PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

James8855

Might Stick Around
Sep 23, 2019
I heard that if your pipe bowl goes sour, you have to clean it with rum and remove all of the cake and break in the pipe again. If you do this repeatedly all the time will it damage the pipe?

I’m new to pipe smoking.

trubka2

Lifer
Feb 27, 2019
Yeah, that sounds really extreme - probably just need to clean it. Sometimes if you just run some hot water through a pipe, wipe out the bowl real good with a paper towel, and run a couple cleaners through it, it'll perform dramatically better (after drying out and resting, of course). Not everybody likes doing that, but a lot of people do. It works great for me, personally. If it still tastes really bad, and you're sure it's the pipe, you can also try putting wet coffee grounds in the bowl for a couple days before moving on to more drastic measures (alcohol and cotton balls, etc.).

luigi

Can't Leave
May 16, 2017
Europe
I'm doing it exactly the way as OP is asking. It works for a better taste but it does damage a pipe's chamber a little.
You better go with thorough cleaning than playing with a reamer ar this point. The cheapest reamers (the known set with 4 heads made of plastic) are bad, I broke mine 2 times.

Reactions: jpmcwjr

writingraav

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jul 11, 2018
I don't know who turned me on to the coffee ground trick but it is a great way of deghosting a pipe.

Cleaning the entire pipe, not just the inside of the bowl, is important too. Some use special tools to clean away in there, I just use a few vodka soaked pipe cleaners.
I wonder if used loose tea leaves work just as well? We don't do coffee.

jpmcwjr

Staff member
May 12, 2015
Carmel Valley, CA