PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

brian64

Lifer
Jan 31, 2011
I used to work in the food industry. Want to know what the FDA considers acceptable in food production?

The FDA considers a lot of things acceptable that I don't...in the medical/pharmaceutical industry as well as food.

On a side note, what amazes me is the vast majority of people (including myself) don't think twice about using eating utensils at restaurants.

Every now and then I do think about it though...and it does kind of creep me out a little. You have to have blind faith that those things have been properly washed.

olkofri

Lifer
Sep 9, 2017
The Arm of Orion
The FDA considers a lot of things acceptable that I don't...in the medical/pharmaceutical industry as well as food.

On a side note, what amazes me is the vast majority of people (including myself) don't think twice about using eating utensils at restaurants.

Every now and then I do think about it though...and it does kind of creep me out a little. You have to have blind faith that those things have been properly washed.
But then you go buying and smoking used pipes!! ???

Reactions: bnichols23

diamondback

Lifer
Feb 22, 2019
Rockvale, TN
I'm a scientist. A very very dirty 50s Charatan consumed all of my alcohol while cleaning yesterday. I made a point to stock up on my pipe cleaning supplies in lab today. A half-liter of pure methanol and a half-liter of isopropanol, each pure 100%.

A chemist will tell you, strictly speaking, that cleaning a pipe is a question of the appropriate solvents. It's all 'chromatography' in a sense, i.e. the leaching of various materials in the appropriate solvent. Tars and gunk (generically speaking) are materials of various molecular weights and solubilities and they leach out to varying degrees in the appropriate solvents.