PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bowie

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 24, 2019
Minnesota
Those of restoring estate pipes may find this information interesting. I'm not posting this to as an argument that 70% is the "correct" way or that using 91%+ is "wrong." I'm not a scientist or in a relevant field and cannot competently comment on the findings in the article, so I simply present it as something of interest. There is also some information about rubbing and denatured alcohol.

Why Is 70% Isopropyl Alcohol (IPA) a Better Disinfectant than 99% Isopropanol, and What Is IPA Used For? - https://blog.gotopac.com/2017/05/15/why-is-70-isopropyl-alcohol-ipa-a-better-disinfectant-than-99-isopropanol-and-what-is-ipa-used-for/

Interesting extracts:

The presence of water is a crucial factor in destroying or inhibiting the growth of pathogenic microorganisms with isopropyl alcohol. Water acts as a catalyst and plays a key role in denaturing the proteins of vegetative cell membranes. 70% IPA solutions penetrate the cell wall more completely which permeates the entire cell, coagulates all proteins, and therefore the microorganism dies.

Solutions > 91% IPA may kill some bacteria, but require longer contact times for disinfection, and enable spores to lie in a dormant state without being killed. A 50% isopropyl alcohol solution kills Staphylococcus Aureus in less than 10 seconds (pg. 238), yet a 90% solution with a contact time of over two hours is ineffective.

jpmcwjr

Staff member
May 12, 2015
Carmel Valley, CA
Veeeeery Interesting!

I much prefer a good hot water flush, and letting dry very well. Then the mouth piece is as clean as the flatware in any decent restaurant, probably better over all.
For the ultra careful on a new acquisition, do first the alcohol soak, then flush with hot water, then dry thoroughly.

Note: None of the above is a full sterilization of the pipe. But it has worked for centuries.