PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sep 21, 2019
Newfoundland
Hello I am pretty new to pipe smoking. Really enjoying it.

I have some pipes I inherited from my Grandfather. I try not to smoke them too much.

I am in the market for a new pipe. The one I am smoking now (first picture) fits really well in the hand and does not heat up like my Grandfather's pipes. The stem split length ways on both top and bottom. No luck in buying the stem alone so far.

The two I have been really looking at is the Mr. Brogs bent bulldog and the rattray's goblin 99. These are the shapes I like the best. The goblin 99 does seem like it would heat up faster than the mr. Brogs.

I would like your thoughts on these two as well as any other suggestions in this style of pipe.

Thank you

Attachments

• 20190921_134859.jpg
    20190921_134859.jpg
    48.8 KB · Views: 12
  • 20190921_134933.jpg
    20190921_134933.jpg
    33.7 KB · Views: 13
  • Screenshot_20190921-134729_Samsung Internet.jpg
    Screenshot_20190921-134729_Samsung Internet.jpg
    26.4 KB · Views: 13

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014
I'd go for the Rattray's. Some time ago someone was commenting about issues with Mr Brog's quality control.
There have been a few discussions about Ratteay's draft holes being crooked. I had a Marlin Dublin with that issue.

Reactions: jpmcwjr

milehighpiper

Can't Leave
Sep 10, 2018
Denver, CO
Never considered a cob. How long do they last. I am looking to spend money once on a good pipe and have it for a long time